Amedeo Maiuri was an important Italian archaeologist.
He was born in Veroli by Giuseppe and Elena Parsi and attended the gymnasium at the Conti-Gentili school in Alatri, then for a short time studied as a self-taught student in the paternal city of Ceprano.
After examination he was admitted to the Visconti high school in Rome.
By enrolling at the Faculties of Letters at the University of Rome La Sapienza, Maiuri discussed a thesis in Byzantine literature on the poet Teodoro Prodromo. He was also a pupil of Federico Halbherr, an Italian archaeologist and epigraphist, who advised him to take part in a competition for a place in the archaeological school of Rome and Athens.
Between 1913 and 1924 he was assigned an archaeological mission to the Aegean, assuming the position of Director of the archaeological museum of Rhodes. He was also Superintendent of excavations in the Dodecanese.
After this Greek experience, Amedeo Maiuri devoted himself to excavation campaigns in the Phlegrean Fields, in the two cities of Herculaneum and Pompeii, whose study her name is inextricably linked.
Maiuri led archaeological explorations to Capri, in particular at Villa Jovis and at Palazzo a Mare.